County Swears In New Sheriff, Clerks, Assessor, Commissioner

NEBRASKA CITY – Otoe County swore in 28 elected officials and deputies Thursday, including the first new sheriff since 1983.
Sheriff Colin Caudill said he feels honored to take the position of sheriff and confident in his deputies.
Caudill: “I think I’ve got some of the best deputies in the State of Nebraska. We  had a large roomful of great experience and great personnel here and I think we can provide an excellent service to Otoe County.”
Sheriff Caudill said he hopes to build off the foundation established by Jim Gress and the other sheriffs.
Among those taking the oath were police officers who are deputized to act outside the jurisdiction of city limits.
Also taking the oath of office in new positions were County Clerk Jennifer Bassinger, Register of Deeds Ruth Ann Weddle, County Assessor Christina Smallfoot and County Commissioner James Thurman.

Other county official sworn in were

  • Nickola Baker-Treasurer
    Mary J. Bennett-Deputy County Clerk
    Katie Rudy-Deputy Register of Deeds
    Christina Smallfoot-Assessor
    Janis Riege-Clerk of District Court
    David Partsch County Attorney
    Jerad Sornson-County Commissioner
    Richard E. Freshman-County Commissioner
    David L. Schmitz-County Surveyor
  • Sheriff’s Deputies
    Colin C. Caudill- Sheriff
    Michael S. Holland – Chief Deputy
    Christopher J. Bando
    Michael J. Riege
    Shad N Berner
    Joshua J. Sterkel
    Joey L. Rehrs
    Brian W. Briley
    Daniel O. Lionberger
    Travis D. Hogancamp
    Gerald K. Schumacher
    Benjamin D. Murry
    James M. Parson
    Chad W. Mayfield
    Kyle R. Gress
    Scott R. Whipple

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.