Husker hoops will face four NCAA tournament teams in 2018-19 nonconference schedule

Nebraska’s 11-game 2018-19 nonconference schedule will feature four NCAA tournament teams and a pair of NIT qualifiers.

The Huskers are set to face Seton Hall, Clemson, Creighton and Cal State Fullerton, which all qualified for the 68-team NCAA tournament field. Oklahoma State and Southeastern Louisiana — which both made NIT appearances — are also on NU’s schedule.

“I think this schedule will prepare us for the Big Ten,” Nebraska coach Tim Miles said in a press release. “It is a very challenging slate with teams from other major conferences and postseason teams all around. The extended Big Ten season of 20 games will also be good for us and great for our faithful fans. We are excited for it to begin.”

Nebraska opens the season with Mississippi Valley State and Southeastern Louisiana in regional play for the Hall of Fame Classic at Pinnacle Bank Arena on Nov. 6 and Nov. 11. The three-game homestand wraps up with Seton Hall, which lost in the second round of the NCAA tournament.

Nebraska will face another postseason team when it plays either USC or Texas Tech in the second round of the Hall of Fame Classic in Kansas City, Missouri.

The Huskers continue their nonconference slate with a home matchup against Western Illinois on Nov. 24 and a road game against Clemson in the ACC-Big Ten Challenge before hosting Creighton Dec. 8 — with two early Big Ten games, Illinois and at Minnesota, squeezed between.

NU wraps up its noncon schedule with Oklahoma State in South Dakota and home matchups with Cal State Fullerton and Southwest Minnesota State.

Check out the full schedule below:

Thursday, Nov. 1 Wayne State (Exhibition)

Tuesday, Nov. 6 Mississippi Valley State (HOF Classic)

Sunday, Nov. 11 Southeastern Louisiana (HOF Classic)

Wednesday, Nov. 14 Seton Hall (Gavitt Games)

Monday, Nov. 19 vs. Missouri State (HOF Classic) Kansas City, Mo.

Tuesday, Nov. 20 vs. USC or Texas Tech (HOF Classic) Kansas City, Mo.

Saturday, Nov. 24 Western Illinois

Monday, Nov. 26 at Clemson (ACC/B1G Challenge)

Sunday, Dec. 2 Illinois

Wednesday, Dec. 5 at Minnesota

Saturday, Dec. 8 Creighton

Sunday, Dec. 16 vs. Oklahoma State

Saturday, Dec. 22 Cal State Fullerton

Saturday, Dec. 29 Southwest Minnesota State

Wednesday, Jan. 2 at Maryland

Sunday, Jan. 6 at Iowa

Thursday, Jan. 10 Penn State

Monday, Jan. 14 at Indiana

Thursday, Jan. 17 Michigan State

Monday, Jan. 21 at Rutgers

Saturday, Jan. 26 Ohio State

Tuesday, Jan. 29 Wisconsin

Saturday, Feb. 2 at Illinois

Wednesday, Feb. 6 Maryland

Saturday, Feb. 9 at Purdue

Wednesday, Feb. 13 Minnesota

Saturday, Feb. 16 Northwestern

Tuesday, Feb. 19 at Penn State

Saturday, Feb. 23 Purdue

Thursday, Feb. 28 at Michigan

Tuesday, March 5 at Michigan State

Sunday, March 10 Iowa

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.

Share: