Beatrice Man Elected NPPD Board Chairman

BEATRICE – A Beatrice man is the new Chairman of the Board of Directors for Nebraska Public Power District.

Gary Thompson was elected as Chairman at the NPPD Board meeting, Thursday.

Thompson is a 25-year member of the public power district board, and said “public power continues to be an essential ingredient to the economic strength of Nebraska.”  He said the board will continue to work with district staff to provide low cost, reliable and sustainable electric power to its customers.

Thompson began his service with the NPPD Board in January of 1993 and served as Vice Chairman in 2017.  He has chaired NPPD committees on Benefits and Labor, Customer Services, Strategic Planning, Energy Supply and Nuclear Power.

The Beatrice attorney graduated from the University of Nebraska and the UNL Law School.  He is a past chairman of the Beatrice Chamber of Commerce Board and served eleven years as a board member for the Beatrice Public School District.

Thompson represents NPPD Subdivision eight, which includes all or parts of Gage, Saline, Jefferson, Thayer, Fillmore, Nuckolls, Pawnee, Johnson, Nemaha and Richardson Counties.

The NPPD Board elected Barry DeKay of Niobrara, as First Vice Chairman.  Bill Johnson of Pilger was elected Second Vice Chairman.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.