Beatrice School Board Members Sworn In To Office

Beatrice School Board Members Sworn In To Office
(Left to Right) Jon Zimmerman, Doris Martin, Erin Chadwick, Eric Trusty, Superintendent Jason Alexander

BEATRICE – The Beatrice Board of Education has begun a new term, with two new members and two reelected members sworn in to office in District 15, Monday night.

Jon Zimmerman and Doris Martin were reelected to the board last November, while Eric Trusty and Erin Chadwick are newly elected.

The board unanimously reelected Jon Zimmerman as President of the Beatrice School Board.  It didn’t take long for the new seven-member arrangement to have an impact on voting.   Doris Martin was selected as Vice President of the Board, on a 4-3 vote over Lisa Pieper.  Assistant Superintendent Dr. Jackie Nielsen was selected as board Secretary, and Superintendent Jason Alexander as Treasurer of the board.

The Beatrice School Board increased in size, from six members to seven beginning this year.

Board members also finalized committee assignments, Monday night.

The school board honored four high school students, Monday night, for achieving all-state honors in vocal music.  They are Chase Barber, Matthew Jobman, Matt Price and John Spilker.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.