District Speech Results: Auburn wins district speech meet; Nebraska City sending four to state

District Speech Results: Auburn wins district speech meet; Nebraska City sending four to state
The Nebraska City High School Speech team finished third at the Class B1 District Meet on Monday. (Courtesy Photo)

AUBURN – The Auburn High School Speech team collected all but two individual titles on their way to the B1 District Championship Monday at Auburn High School.

Bulldog champions include Bethany Kiekel and Kathryn Kudrna (Duet Acting); Madison Reiman (Entertainment Speaking);  Andres Cortinas (Extemporaneous Speaking), Sadie Shriver (Informative Speaking); Cameron Stough, Hunter Thomas, Shriver and Trace Moody (Oral Interpretation of Drama); Kudrna (Oral Interpretation of Serious Prose); and Rehbeka Knowlton (Persuasive Speaking).

Emma Murphy and Grace Powell both finished runner-up in Oral Interpretation of Poetry and Oral Interpretation of Humorous Prose respectively. They both qualify for the state speech meet on March 21 at the University of Nebraska-Kearney campus.

Nebraska City will send four students to the state competition. It’ll be the first time at state for Ellie Higgins, Lillian Frields, Christian Tietz and Erik Rodriguez.

“Overall, we had a very young team this year,” Nebraska City Head Coach Justin Aaberg said. “It was exciting to see them develop throughout the season along with the more experienced speakers, as well.”

Higgins was the lone district champion for the Pioneers. She placed first in Oral Interpretation of Humorous Prose. She also qualified for state in Oral Interpretation of Serious Prose by finishing third.

Nebraska City was third in the team standings.

Johnson-Brock, Pawnee City finish in top three at district speech

AUBURN – Auburn High School was also the host site for the Class D1-1 District Speech Meet where Johnson-Brock finished as the runner-up and Pawnee City came in third. Diller-Odell earned the district championship.

Isaiah Spruth-Janssen and Joshua Hoff-Boring (Duet Acting) and Kyria Spruth-Janssen (Persuasive Speaking) claimed individual district titles for the Eagles.

Stella Hunzeker (Entertainment Speaking); Eliza Hunzeker (Extemporaneous Speaking); Elli Stephens, Eve Beethe, Olivia Gottula, Reyana Tegtmeier and Wyatt Whiffen (Oral Interpretation of Drama); and Eve Beethe (Oral Interpretation of Serious Prose) were individual champions for the Indians.


Follow Hunter on Twitter: @TheBurnRadio

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.