First Grants Announced Under New Nebraska Rural Workforce Housing Investment Act

First Grants Announced Under New Nebraska Rural Workforce Housing Investment Act
Senator Matt Williams, sponsor of LB 518

BEATRICE – The Southeast Nebraska Development District is one of fourteen entities awarded housing development assistance under terms of a new state law.

The Nebraska Governor’s office announced the awards yesterday…the first grants under the Nebraska Rural Workforce Housing Investment Act. (LB 518)

The bill was sponsored by State Senator Matt Williams, of Gering.

State lawmakers channeled about $7 million from the Affordable Housing Trust Fund into the new rural workforce fund.  That money will help to fund housing development projects in counties of less than 100,000 residents.

Southeast Nebraska Development District will receive a grant of $639,000. Five communities included in the SENDD partnership are Beatrice, Auburn, Deshler, Fairbury and Geneva.

The largest individual awards, of $850,000, went to the Greater Fremont Development Council, the Hastings Economic Development Corporation and NeighborWorks Northeast Nebraska.

All fourteen agencies receiving grants have shown they can match the state funds on a dollar-for-dollar basis.   Projects allowed under LB 518 include construction of new owner-occupied homes at no more than $275,000, per unit.  Also allowed is rental housing costing no more than $200,000, home rehabilitation projects and upper-story housing development.

The list of first-time grants under LB 518 includes:

  • Central Nebraska Economic Development, Inc.: $239,630
  • Economic Development Council of Buffalo County: $319,500
  • Greater Fremont Development Council: $850,000
  • Hastings Economic Development Corporation: $850,000
  • Holdrege Development Corporation: $319,500
  • Lincoln County Community Development Corporation: $159,750
  • MAPA Foundation: $351,450
  • NeighborWorks Northeast Nebraska: $850,000
  • North Platte Area Chamber and Development Corporation: $383,400
  • Schuyler Community Development, Inc.: $810,000
  • SEND District, Inc.: $639,000
  • South Central Development District, Inc.: $274,700
  • Wayne Community Housing Development Corporation: $639,000
  • York County Development Corporation: $323,000

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.