President Issues Disaster Declaration, Covering Eighteen Nebraska Counties

BEATRICE – A major disaster declaration has been issued, providing federal assistance for storm damage in Nebraska between June 12th and June 17th.

The Trump Administration issued the declaration yesterday, which covers eighteen counties in Nebraska.  Included in the declaration are Gage, Jefferson, Fillmore, Saunders, Cass, Sarpy, Butler and Polk Counties.   Also included are Banner, Box Butte, Cuming, Dodge, Douglas, Morrill, Sheridan, Sioux, Thurston and Wayne Counties.

Under the disaster declaration, counties will be eligible for public assistance for emergency work and repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

The disaster declaration is for severe storms, tornadoes and strong straight-line winds.   A powerful storm system packing winds of 80 to over 100 miles-per-hour hit areas of southeast Nebraska, on June 16th.  The storm did considerable tree and electric utility damage, along with damage to buildings.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.