17 western Iowa volleyball players receive IGCA all-state honors

Seventeen western Iowa volleyball players have earned all-state honors by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.

The IGCA selected the teams last weekend in conjunction with the Senior Volleyball Classic that was played in Carroll. The organization selected two eight-member all-state teams in Class 5-A and 4-A; three seven-member teams in 3-A; and three eight-member teams in 2-A and 1-A.

Five of the WI honorees earned first-team honors: Sergeant Bluff-Luton junior Kenzie Foley and senior Madison Harms in 4-A; Carroll Kuemper senior Aimee Adams and junior Kara Peter in 3-A; and Sidney senior Camryn McClintock in 2-A.

Foley and Harms helped SB-L to a semifinal appearance, while Adams and Peter led the Knights to their first state championship. McClintock played at state all four years and helped the Cowgirls to the semifinals this season.

Eight others picked up second-team honors: Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln junior Elaina Bohnet in 5-A; Council Bluffs Lewis Central junior Megan Witte and Sioux City Heelan senior Nicole Jacobson in 4-A; Red Oak junior Sophie Walker in 3-A; seniors Jaden Daffer of Sidney and Sydni Huisman of Treynor in 2-A; and senior Emilee Danner of Ar-We-Va and junior Alex Knop of East Mills in 1-A.

Four more earned third-team recognition: Kuemper senior Paige Overmohle in 3-A and Council Bluffs St. Albert sophomore Allie Petry, Sidney junior Olivia Larsen and Tri-Center senior Brooklyn Hundt in 2-A.

Petry was the lone sophomore named to one of the 2-A teams.

The IGCA also named players of the year in each class. They are Madi Kubik of West Des Moines Valley in 5-A, Aliyah Carter of Dubuque Wahlert in 4-A, Sommer Daniel of Tipton in 3-A, Corrina Timmermans of Orange City Unity Christian in 2-A and Bree Thompson of Janesville in 1-A.

The coaches of the year are Matt Johnson of Cedar Falls in 5-A, Lindsey Beaves of Wahlert in 4-A, Keith Stickrod of Kuemper in 3-A, Tammi Verbeek of Hull Western Christian in 2-A and Shelly Sorensen of Janesville in 1-A.

IGCA All-State Teams

Class 5-A

First Team: Maddy Baxter, Sr., CR Jefferson; Akacia Brown, Jr., Cedar Falls; Kaylee Donner, Sr., CR Jefferson; Emerson Green, Jr., Cedar Falls; Madi Kubik, Sr., WDM Valley; Megan Renner, Sr., Linn-Mar; Devyn Robinson, Jr., Ankeny Centennial; Kenna Sauer, Sr., Ankeny Centennial.

Player of the year: Kubik, WDM Valley

Coach of the year: Matt Johnson, Cedar Falls

Second Team: Kaylissa Arndorfer, Sr., Waterloo West; Elaina Bohnet, Jr., CB Abraham Lincoln; Haley Bush, Sr., Waukee; Sydney Kloubec, Sr., CR Jefferson; Phyona Schrader, So., Ankeny; Jada Wills, Jr., Dubuque Hempstead; Ari Winters, Sr., Ankeny Centennial; Alyana Yates, Jr., Cedar Falls.

WI Honorable Mention: CB Abraham Lincoln: Sam Christiansen.

Class 4-A

First Team: Aliyah Carter, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Emily Holterhaus, Sr., Pella; Kenzie Foley, Jr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Madison Larson, Sr., Independence; Akeela Jefferson, Sr., CR Xavier; Carolyn Conlon, Sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Macey Kleitsch, Jr., West Delaware; Madison Harms, Jr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton.

Player of the year: Carter, Dubuque Wahlert

Coach of the year: Lindsey Beaves, Dubuque Wahlert

Second Team: Eve Magill, So., CR Xavier; Kate Tidman, Sr., Bondurant-Farrar; Holly Cooksley, Sr., Independence; Claire Demmer, Sr., West Delaware; Megan Witte, Jr., CB Lewis Central; Katelyn Knudsen, Jr., Dallas Center-Grimes; Grace Tubbs, Sr., Clinton; Nicole Jacobson, Sr., Sioux City Heelan.

WI Honorable Mention: Sergeant Bluff-Luton: Elle Sneller, Maya Schmidt.

Class 3-A

First Team: Aimee Adams, Sr., Carroll Kuemper; Sommer Daniel, Jr., Tipton; Rory Light, Sr., Mount Vernon; Sydney Midlang, Sr., Osage; Rylie Olson, Sr., Osage; Kara Peter, Jr., Carroll Kuemper; Kate Shannon, Sr., Waterloo Columbus.

Player of the year: Daniel, Tipton

Coach of the year: Keith Stickrod, Carroll Kuemper

Second Team: Macy Akers, Sr., West Liberty; Jazlyn DeHaan, So., MOC-Floyd Valley; MaKayla Geise, Sr., Roland-Story; Danielle Johnson, So., Osage; Madi Parson, Sr., Camanche; Amanda Smith, Sr., Tipton; Sophia Walker, Jr., Red Oak.

Third Team: Payton Ahrenstroff, Sr., Spirit Lake; Delaney McSweeney, Sr., Center Point-Urbana; Morgan Middleton, So., Clarion-Goldfield-Dows; Maci Overmohle, Sr., Carroll Kuemper; Rachel Rinken, Jr., New Hampton; Belle Weber, So., Union; Kylie Welch, Jr., Davenport Assumption.

WI Honorable Mention: Red Oak: Chloe Johnson.

Class 2-A

First Team: Corrina Timmermans, Sr., Orange City Unity Christian; Sydney Steffen, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; Aubrey Putman, Sr., Wilton; Madison Hofman, Sr., Hull Western Christian; Amber Rickert, Sr., Dike-New Hartford; Morgan Weber, Jr., Dike-New Hartford; Jori Bronner, Sr., Orange City Unity Christian; Camryn McClintock, Sr., Sidney.

Player of the year: Timmermans, Unity Christian

Coach of the year: Tammi Verbeek, Western Christian

Second Team: Heather Boeckenstedt, Sr., Dyersville Beckman; Hailey Wallis, Sr., Grundy Center; Kenzie Mantz, Sr., Belle Plaine; Olivia Granstra, Sr., Hull Western Christian; Jaden Daffer, Sr., Sidney; Kylie Willis, Sr., Grundy Center; Sydni Huisman, Sr., Treynor; Ellie Bildstein, Sr., Dyersville Beckman.

Third Team: Macay Van’t Hul, Jr., Hull Western Christian; Brooklyn Hundt, Sr., Tri-Center; Kamryn Meyer, Sr., Durant; Selena Sayre, Jr., Van Buren; Allie Petry, So., CB St. Albert; Olivia Larsen, Jr., Sidney; Helaina Hillyard, Jr., Mediapolis; Tori Wynja, Jr., Hull Western Christian.

WI Honorable Mention: Tri-Center: Olivia Maassen, Lilly Dahir. Sidney: Kelsey Hobbie.

Class 1-A

First Team: Bree Thompson, Sr., Janesville; Emily Box, Sr., Fort Madison Holy Trinity; Zoe Semelroth, Jr., Tripoli; Alisa Bengen, Sr., Janesville; Saari Kuehl, So., Gladbrook-Reinbeck; Katie Peters, Sr., Le Mars Gehlen; Lily Liekweg, Sr., Janesville; Hayley Goedken, Sr., Starmont.

Player of the year: Thompson, Janesville

Coach of the year: Shelly Sorensen, Janesville

Second Team: Riley Gatton, Sr., Montezuma; Alex Knop, Jr., East Mills; Regan Janssen, Sr., Starmont; Eryn Anderson, Sr., Fort Madison Holy Trinity; Emilee Danner, Sr., Ar-We-Va; Gabby Gergen, So., Janesville; Shateah Wetering, Jr., Montezuma; Katie Kopriva, Jr., North Tama.

Third Team: Chloe Coleman, Sr., New London; Katelyn Langel, Sr., Le Mars Gehlen; Madilyn Vaske, Sr., Starmont; Taylor Meyer, Sr., Harris-Lake Park; Taylor Boeding, Sr., Fort Madison Holy Trinity; Julia Meister, Jr., Janesville; Taylor Smith, Jr., Iowa Valley; Takoa Kopriva, Jr., North Tama.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.