2019 All-Western Iowa boys basketball: As all-around threats, captains also brought scoring punch

2019 All-Western Iowa boys basketball: As all-around threats, captains also brought scoring punch
Cooper DeJean of OA-BCIG tied for third in 2-A in scoring at 23.3 points per game and ranked fourth in rebounding with 11.3 a contest. TODD DANNER/FOR THE WORLD-HERALD

It’s one thing to be a scorer.

It’s another to possess the ability to score while making the game easier for your teammates.

At the high school level, Cliff McCray of Sioux City West, Cooper DeJean of OA-BCIG and Cole Burmeister of Exira-EHK have mastered that talent. McCray (7.5 assists per game), DeJean (5.0) and Burmeister (7.4) all led their respective conferences in assists while providing plenty of scoring punch.

For their all-around talents, McCray (Class 4-A/3-A), DeJean (2-A) and Burmeister (1-A) are the honorary captains of The World-Herald’s All-Western Iowa boys basketball teams. DeJean is a sophomore, and the other two are seniors.

The 6-foot-3 McCray, who will play at NCAA Division II Southwest Minnesota State, was a threat to notch a triple-double every time he stepped on the court. He averaged 20.8 points and 9.0 rebounds to go with the 7.5 assists, while shooting a sparkling 59.8 percent from the field, 40.6 percent (28 of 69) from 3-point range and 84.0 percent from the line. West finished 17-5, losing 67-62 to Sioux City East in a 4-A substate final.

At 6-1, OA-BCIG coach Steve Brown calls DeJean “by far the best sophomore I have coached.’’ He tied for third in 2-A in scoring at 23.3 points per game and ranked fourth in rebounding with 11.3 a contest. He shot 50.9 percent from the field and 33.0 percent (30 of 91) from 3-point range for the 18-5 Falcons, who lost 61-46 to Rock Valley in a substate final.

There are several coaches in western Iowa who believe the 5-9 Burmeister was the best point guard in southwest Iowa, regardless of class. He averaged 16.4 points to go with his 7.4 assists, and attacked the boards with surprising ferocity, grabbing 6.8 per game to go with 3.1 steals. Burmeister shot 47.1 percent from the field, 36.4 percent (40 of 110) from 3-point range and 79.6 percent from the line for the 22-3 Spartans, who lost 80-69 to Sioux Central in a substate final.

McCray and Burmeister join Sioux City East senior Aidan Vanderloo (4-A/3-A) and OA-BCIG senior Kaden Ladwig in moving up from last year’s respective second team to this year’s first unit.

In 1-A, Bedford junior Brennan Sefrit is a repeat first-team pick after making the second team as a freshman. Also in 1-A, Coon Rapids-Bayard senior Ben Obert earns second-team honors for a second straight season.

The All-Western Iowa teams were chosen by a vote of area coaches, observations of World-Herald staff writers and a look at season statistics.

Class 4-A/3-A

First team

* Cliff McCray, Sioux City West

6-3, senior, 20.8 ppg

Goanar Biliew, Denison-Schleswig

6-8, junior, 18.2

Kylan Smallwood, Creston

6-3, senior, 21.3

Aidan Vanderloo, Sioux City East

6-2, senior, 22.4

Charlie Wiebers, Denison-Schleswig

5-11, junior, 16.1

Second team

Conner Groves, Sergeant Bluff-Luton

6-1, senior, 16.6

Jang Jioklow, Carroll

6-2, senior, 13.2

Chase Mullenix, Atlantic

6-0, senior, 17.7

Christian Stanislav, Glenwood

6-5, senior, 20.8

Daniel Wright, Sergeant Bluff-Luton

6-8, junior, 15.1

Class 2-A

First team

* Cooper DeJean, OA-BCIG

6-1, sophomore, 23.3

Kaden Ladwig, OA-BCIG

6-0, senior, 16.5

Jon Schwarte, Treynor

6-10, junior, 11.6

Jack Stogdill, Treynor

6-2, junior, 11.8

Jack Tiarks, Treynor

6-4, junior, 13.3

Second team

Blake Baumhover, Carroll Kuemper

5-11, senior, 12.5

Ely Fundermann, MVAOCOU

6-0, senior, 14.2

Jerry Jorgenson, Treynor

5-10, senior, 11.0

Nathan Lindsay, Clarinda

6-0, junior, 10.3

Landon Ray, OA-BCIG

5-9, senior, 13.9

Class 1-A

First team

* Cole Burmeister, Exira-EHK

5-9, senior, 16.4

Tate Killeen, Audubon

5-10, senior, 19.7

Brennan Sefrit, Bedford

5-10, junior, 21.2

Keegan Simons, Ar-We-Va

6-2, senior, 19.2

Donnie Weis, Stanton

5-11, senior, 22.6

Second team

Jared Gast, CB St. Albert

6-5, senior, 13.0

Clay Hohertz, Nodaway Valley

6-1, junior, 13.7

Ben Obert, Coon Rapids-Bayard

6-3, senior, 22.0

Dakota Rold, Exira-EHK

6-7, senior, 17.2

Drew Schurke, Ar-We-Va

5-7, senior, 16.8

* — denotes honorary captain

Honorable mentions

Class 4-A/3-A

Brance Baker, Creston; Adien Belt, Sioux City West; Ryan Blum, Glenwood; Zach Carr, Glenwood; Sam DeMoss, Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Dawson Dorhout, Denison-Schleswig; Jaleque Dunson, Sioux City East; Trent Frerichs, Sioux City North; Hunter Hendrix, CB Abraham Lincoln; Cole Jensen, CB Lewis Central; Jadin Johnson, CB Abraham Lincoln; Javonte Keck, Sioux City East; Karter Lein, Carroll; Tyler Moen, Atlantic; Nate Reed, Sioux City North; Brett Sears, Harlan; Josh Simmons, CB Lewis Central; Colby Vincent, Carroll.

Class 2-A

Isaac Birt, Red Oak; Ben Brincks, Carroll Kuemper; Kyle Cerven, Shenandoah; Calvin Ferris, MVAOCOU; Blake Hall, Underwood; Brady Huebner, Tri-Center; Jalen Humphrey, Underwood; Leyton Nelson, Tri-Center.

Class 1-A

Clayton Akers, AHSTW; Alex Bantam, Woodbine; Dylan Berens, Boyer Valley; Lucas Berens, Boyer Valley; Jacob Holste, CAM; Ty Houston, West Harrison; Noah Jorgenson, Sidney; Lane Lawson, Audubon; Alex Lingle, IKM-Manning; Brady Lorimor, Sidney; Reed Miller, CB St. Albert; Cooper Nally, Bedford; Derek Oeser, Ar-We-Va; Eli Owen, Fremont-Mills; Tyler Peterson, Stanton; Josh Pettepier, Exira-EHK; Layne Pryor, Woodbine; Wyatt Pryor, Woodbine; Sam Rallis, CB St. Albert; Gavin Reineke, Boyer Valley; Nick Rife, West Harrison; Pedro Rogozzo, East Mills; Michael Schafer, East Mills; Aryll Shantz, Nodaway Valley; Kaiden Smith, Audubon; Matt Soetmelk, Logan-Magnolia; Mason Vanatta, Fremont-Mills; Reath Yak, Clarinda Academy.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.