Dana Altman, Kyle Korver will be inducted to Creighton Athletics Hall of Fame

Dana Altman, Kyle Korver will be inducted to Creighton Athletics Hall of Fame
Kyle Korver and Dana Altman will be inducted to the Creighton Athletics Hall of Fame. (World-Herald News Service)

Former Bluejay basketball coach Dana Altman and All-American Kyle Korver will make up the 51st Creighton Athletics Hall of Fame class.

Altman and Korver will be officially inducted during a ceremony on Aug. 25 at the Marriott Capitol District Hotel in Omaha. Tickets to the event cost $100 per person or $1,000 for a table of 10. Click here for more information.

Altman remains Creighton’s all-time wins leader, holding a 327-126 record from his 16 seasons as the Bluejays’ coach (1994-2010). He led Creighton to the NCAA tournament seven times and was a two-time Missouri Valley Conference coach of the year.

Altman also holds MVC coaching records with 13 consecutive postseason appearances, 11 straight 20-win seasons, 13 straight seasons with at least 10 conference wins and six conference tournament titles.

Altman is entering his ninth season as the coach at Oregon and led the Ducks to the Final Four in 2017. He is one of six active Division I coaches with 21 consecutive winning seasons.

Korver, a Bluejay from 1999-2003, remains the only player in Creighton history to play in four NCAA tournaments. He was a consensus second-team All-American as a senior and twice was named MVC regular-season and tournament MVP.

He remains the Creighton and MVC record holder with 371 career 3-pointers. He also ranks in the top 10 in Creighton history with 819 3-point attempts (first), an 89.1 percent free-throw percentage (first), a 45.3 percent 3-point percentage (third), 172 steals (fifth) and 1,801 career points (sixth).

Korver, a second-round pick in the 2003 draft, has spent 15 seasons in the NBA. He’s the only player to lead the league in 3-point percentage four times. He ranks fourth in NBA history with 2,213 career 3-pointers.

The Creighton Athletics Hall of Fame contains 84 members, plus the 1991 baseball team. It started in 1968 with the induction of Bob Gibson and includes 31 former Bluejay men’s basketball coaches and players.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.