Kirk Hinrich and Nick Collison to be inducted into IAHSAA hall of fame

DES MOINES — Among the inductees into the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s Hall of Fame this year are former players Kirk Hinrich of Sioux City West, Nick Collison of Iowa Falls and Kyle McCann of Creston.

Hinrich led West to four state tournaments, the only four in which it’s appeared. He became a two-time All-American at Kansas, leading the Jayhawks to two Final Fours. He played 12 years in the NBA at Chicago, Washington and Atlanta, and is the Bulls’ career leader in made 3-pointers. He lives in Sioux Falls with wife Jill and their four children.

Hinrich shared Iowa Mr. Basketball honors in 1997 with Collison, and they became teammates at Kansas. Collison earned All-America honors as well. He played 15 years in the NBA with Seattle and Oklahoma City. He will have his jersey retired by Oklahoma City later this month. He resides in Kansas City.

McCann led the Panthers to a state title in 1997, graduating as the school’s career scoring leader with 1,857 points. He played quarterback at Iowa and graduated at No. 5 on the school’s career passing list. He lives in West Des Moines with the former Maggie Hall, a Harlan native, and their three daughters.

The other hall of fame inductees are players Jason Bohannon of Linn-Mar, Dennis Pauling of Paullina and Grant Stout of North Mahaska, along with coaches Dennis Geraghty of Western Dubuque, Ken Laffoon of Danville and Brian Wildeboer of Colo-Nesco.

Coaches honored for milestones

Corner Conference boys coaches Kevin Blunt of Stanton, Kevin Schafer of East Mills and Kent Larsen of Sidney were recognized Thursday for reaching milestones. Blunt and Schafer reached 400 career wins, and Larsen reached the 300-victory mark.

At the girls state tournament, Tom Petersen of Exira-EHK was honored by the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association for his 400th career win, and Dick Wettengel of Council Bluffs St. Albert was honored for his 300th career win.

Western Iowa all-stars

Also last week, 13 western Iowa girls basketball players and four coaches were selected to participate in the IGCA’s Senior All-Star Classic at Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids on April 6 and 7.

Players selected include Logan Hughes of Shenandoah, Alex Mohr and Sarah Heilesen of Denison-Schleswig, Bricelyn Comstock of Sioux City West, Taylor Wedemeyer of Clarinda, Konnor Sudmann and Kayla Chapman of Treynor, Bailey White of Council Bluffs St. Albert, Emily Danner of Ar-We-Va, Madison Gettler and Paige McAfee of CAM, Brittney Beebe of Griswold and Samantha Brown of Glidden-Ralston. Coaches include Wendy Lausen of Tri-Center, Joe Wollum of CAM and Nate Wall and Mark Renning of Carroll.

Wollum also has been named the Class 1-A coach of the year in the West Central District, and Denison-Schleswig’s Adam Mich was named coach of the year in the Class 4-A West District.

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.