Regionals set for Iowa high school Class 4-A, 5-A girls basketball

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union on Wednesday unveiled its regional basketball pairings in Class 4-A and 5-A.

Each 5-A region has five teams, meaning three receive first-round byes and two do not. In 4-A, regions include six teams, with two receiving byes and the other four playing in the first round.

In Region 1 of 4-A, the state-rated entries include No. 8 Denison-Schleswig (14-4), No. 9 Le Mars (13-4) and No. 10 Sergeant Bluff-Luton (11-6). In Region 8 of 4-A, No. 2 Council Bluffs Lewis Central (17-0) is the lone state-rated team, although Sioux City Heelan (9-6) just exited the ratings.

Perhaps the most difficult area draw among 5-A schools was handed to Council Bluffs Abraham Lincoln (11-6), which will travel to Sioux City West (12-5) for a first-round game in Region 6. The winner will meet No. 4 Johnston (15-3) in a semifinal game. No. 13 Cedar Rapids Washington (10-6) also is in the far-reaching region, in which all five teams have winning records.

In Region 4 of 5-A, Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson (11-6) has matched its 5-on-5 school record for wins. It will play host to Sioux City North (1-16) in the first round, with the winner traveling to No. 7 Southeast Polk (15-3). Tenth-rated Indianola (15-3) also is in the region.

Here are the pairings in regionals which include schools in The World-Herald’s western Iowa coverage area, with all 7 p.m. starts:

Wednesday, Feb. 14

Regional First Round Class 4-A Region 1: Carroll at Storm Lake; Spencer at Sergeant Bluff-Luton

Region 8: ADM at Winterset; Glenwood at Harlan

Class 5-A

Region 4: Sioux City North at CB Thomas Jefferson

Region 6: CB Abraham Lincoln at Sioux City West

Region 7: Fort Dodge at Sioux City East

Saturday, Feb. 17

Regional Semifinals Class 4-A

Region 1: Carroll/Storm Lake winner at Denison-Schleswig; Spencer/SB-Luton winner at Le Mars

Region 8: Winterset/ADM winner at CB Lewis Central; Harlan/Glenwood winner at Sioux City Heelan

Class 5-A

Region 4: CBTJ/SC North winner at Southeast Polk; Des Moines Roosevelt at Indianola

Region 6: CBAL/SC West winner at Johnston; Cedar Rapids Kennedy at Cedar Rapids Washington

Region 7: Ft. Dodge/SC East winner at WDM Dowling; DM Lincoln at Ankeny

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.