Western Iowa volleyball powers scattered across 2-A regions

The road to state officially has been paved for every Class 1-A and 2-A volleyball team in Iowa.

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union released its first batch of regional pairings on Monday afternoon, with 3-A, 4-A and 5-A pairings to follow on Tuesday.

In Class 2-A, the top teams from western Iowa were scattered across three regions. Fourth-rated Council Bluffs St. Albert (20-2) and No. 9 Tri-Center (22-2) both received first-round byes in Region 3, as did IKM-Manning (19-10).

Fifth-rated Sidney (21-3) and No. 13 Clarinda (12-8) received byes on opposite sides of Region 4. Unrated Des Moines Christian (18-8), which challenged 4-A No. 8 Council Bluffs Lewis Central (22-4) in a pair of close matches at a Fort Dodge tournament two weeks ago, could be another contender for the state banner.

Seventh-rated Treynor (20-3) and Missouri Valley (18-5) earned first-round byes in the same half of Region 2, while No. 8 Orange City Unity Christian (9-7) and No. 10 Hinton (16-10) are in the opposite side of the region.

In Class 1-A, a western Iowa team is guaranteed to advance to state out of Region 2. No. 15 Essex (10-4) and East Mills (18-7) earned the first-round byes.

Here are the opening-round pairings for schools in The World-Herald’s western Iowa coverage area, all with 7 p.m. starts:

Tuesday, Oct. 17

Class 1-A

Region 1: Whiting at West Monona

Region 2: Clarinda Academy at Riverside; South Page at Stanton; Lenox at Bedford; Griswold at Fremont-Mills; Woodbine at West Harrison; Boyer Valley vs. CB Heartland Christian at Iowa Deaf

Region 3: Storm Lake St. Mary’s at Ar-We-Va

Region 4: Glidden-Ralston at Coon Rapids-Bayard; Exira-EHK at Audubon

Class 2-A

Region 2: MVAO-COU at Logan-Magnolia

Region 3: Underwood at AHSTW

Region 4: Nodaway Valley at Southwest Valley

Monday, Oct. 23

Class 1-A

Region 2: Riverside/Clarinda Academy winner at Essex; Fremont-Mills/Griswold winner at East Mills

Region 4: Ankeny Christian/Orient-Macksburg winner at CAM

Class 2-A

Region 2: Logan-Magnolia/MVAO-COU winner at Treynor; Lawton-Bronson/Woodbury Central winner at Missouri Valley

Region 3: AHSTW/Underwood winner at CB St. Albert; Woodward-Granger/Ogden winner at Tri-Center; Fort Dodge St. Edmond/Eagle Grove winner at IKM-Manning

Region 4: Southwest Valley/Nodaway Valley winner at Sidney; Mount Ayr/Wayne winner at Clarinda

We strive for accuracy. Report a typo, inaccuracy, or mistake here.